go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Music Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians full text
  Online access to this important resource. Includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera.
Print version at SREF780.3/54B/(1-20)
Oxford Reference Online full text
Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes Who's Who in Opera,The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera.
Music Index
  Covers all aspects of Music and Music Education (1979+)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  Major international resource for research in Music and Music Education
Classical Music Library
  Classical music library is a streaming classical music service that enables listening and learning at library and home computers. It is a complete collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen to music while simultaneously searching and browsing the vast reference database.
Naxos Music Library
  Similar to above.
Music Literature
  Prepared by Dr. Dorottya Fabien to assist music students at the University of New South Wales to prepare for their listening assignments.
Music Australia
  MusicAustralia is an online service developed by the National Library of Australia and the National Film and Sound Archive. MusicAustralia helps you to find, access and navigate a rich store of information on Australian music, musicians, organisations and services from a single access point.
Variations
   A product of Indiana University. A large collection of digitized music scores in the public domain.
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
aboriginal australians music [use for aboriginal music] 
arrangement music
atonality
conducting
conductors music
instrumentation and orchestration 
music england 500-1400 history and criticism [use for English polyphony. For other countries, use, e.g. music france 500-1400 history and criticism]
music instruction and study [use for music education; music teaching]
music 16th century history and criticism [use for Renaissance music]
music 17th century history and criticism [use for music of the Baroque period]
music 18th century history and criticism [use for music of the Baroque period]
music 19th century history and criticism [use for music of the Romantic period]
music theory history 500-1400 [use for polyphony]
musicology
performance practice music
piano performance [use the name of other instruments also, e.g. guitar performance]
piano study and teaching [use the name of other instruments also, e.g. guitar study and teaching]
romanticism in music [use for music of the Romantic period]
 
 

Related Subject Guides