go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Music Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians full text
  Online access to this important resource. Includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera.
Print version at SREF780.3/54B/(1-20)
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes Who's Who in Opera, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera.
The Oxford illustrated dictionary of music. 2nd ed. 1979
  Only in print at SREF780.3/52
The Grove concise dictionary of music. 1994
  Only in print at SREF780.3/66C 
 The Penguin companion to classical music. 2004
  Only in print at SREF780.3/78
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopadie der Musik. 1994-1999 2., neubearbeitete Ausg.
  Only in print at SREF780.3/16A
 Performance practice :  a dictionary-guide for musicians. 2004
  Only in print at SREF781.4309/3
Piano : an encyclopedia. 2nd. ed. 2003
  Only in print at SREF786.203/1

Australian Resources

A dictionary of Australian music. 1999
  Only in print at SREF780.99403/2
Currency companion to music & dance in Australia. 2003
  Only in print at SREF780.994/37
The Oxford companion to Australian music. 1997
  Only in print at SREF780.99403/1
Sound ideas : Australian composers born since 1950, a guide to their music and ideas. 1995
  Only in print at SREF780.994/28
Biographical directory of Australian composers. 1996
  Only in print at SREF780.2594/2
Bibliography of Australian music : an index to monographs, journal articles and theses. 1992

Biographical Resources

Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. 2001
10th ed.
  Only in print at SREF780.9/31F/(1-6)
Baker's biographical dictionary of twentieth-century classical musicians. 1997
  Only in print at SREF780.922/21
The chronicle of classical music : an intimate diary of the lives and music of the great composers. 1994
  Only in print at SREF780.9/151
International encyclopedia of women composers. 1987
2nd. ed.
  Only in print at SREF780.92/57B
The New Grove dictionary of women composers. 1994
  Only in print at SREF780.92/122

Ethnomusicology & World Music

Nettl, Bruno. Reference materials in ethnomusicology : a bibliographic essay. 2nd ed. 1967
  Only in print at SREF781.7/8
Ethnomusicology research : a select annotated bibliography. 1992
  Only in print at SREF780.89/2
The Garland encyclopedia of world music. 1998-2000
  Only in print at SREF780.9/165/(1-9)
Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world. 2003
  Only in print at SREF781.6303/3/(1-2)
The Virgin directory of world music. 1992
  Only in print at SREF781.63/30

Opera & Jazz

The new Kobbe's opera book. 11th ed. 1997
  Only in print at SREF782.08/1D
The New Grove dictionary of opera. 1992
 
New Grove dictionary of opera online is available through New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians online. See top section of this page.
Print version at SREF782.103/13/(1-4)
The new Grove book of operas. 1996
 
Only in print at SREF782.103/16
The Viking opera guide. 1993
 
Only in print at SREF782.1/46
The New Grove dictionary of jazz. 2nd ed. 2002
 
Only in print at SREF781.6503/3/(1-3)
Free jazz and free improvisation :  an encyclopedia. 2004
 
Only in print at SREF781.6513603/1 /(1-2)
Jazz : the essential companion. 1988
 
Only in print at SREF781.6503/2
The complete encyclopedia of popular music and jazz, 1900-1950. 1974
 
Only in print at SREF780.420973/1/(1-4)
Biographical dictionary of jazz. 1982
 
Only in print at SREF785.420922/1
The Oxford companion to Australian Jazz. 1987
 
Only in print at SREF785.420994/1
Australian jazz on record, 1925-80. 1988
 
Only in print at SREF785.420994/2