go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Philosophy Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Key Resources

 Philosopher's Index   1940 onwards
  Index only. The main database for Philosophy students. 
 Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  Electronic encyclopedia.
 Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  Searchable full text encyclopedia of philosophy from Stanford University.
 JSTOR full text   1879 onwards
  Of the 5 multidisciplinary databases with relevant content, JSTOR is the least user friendly. However, it does offer the text of scholarly journal articles all the way back to 1879. After accessing JSTOR, click the Search option. Before searching choose your categories, e.g. Philosophy (and History and Language & Literature if desired).
 Encyclopedia of Philosophy. 1996
  SREF103/5 (1-9). Find this in the SREF reference collection, Level 3, Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
World Philosophy: Essay Reviews of 225 Major Works - from sixth century A.D. to 1971
  SREF109/80 (1-5). Find this in the SREF reference collection, Level 3, Social Sciences & Humanities Library.
Catalogue (LRD)   before clicking this link, read the following:
  Use the Catalogue to search your library for books. Example: Click the above link to search using keywords "postmodernism  criticism". Look at several records to see if they are relevant and click on the title of items to find the subject heading. Use these preferred terms in new keyword searches e.g "postmodernism social aspects", depending on your interest.
 MyCourse  before clicking this link, read the following:
  My Course is the search engine for the Library Reserve. Lecturers place items in My Course that they want all their students to use. You can search My Course for a known item or by keyword, but the best search is to use your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. Example: Click the above My Course link to search the course code phil2519...("Introduction to Chinese Philosophy"). 
Paideia Project
  Internet site of the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy that offers over 600 full text papers from the Paideia archive and links to significant philosophy resources on the Internet.
WWW Virtual Library: Philosophy
  Internet site and part of the World Wide Web Virtual Library.

Related Subject Guides