| |

|
 |
Refugee Subject Guide
Databases
| MAIS : Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies |
| |
Index to Australian and multicultural issues, from 1991 onwards.
Continues print version at SREF305.800994/27/(1-2) MAIS index: entries from the Multicultural Australia Information System. Canberra, 1990.
|
| APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text |
| |
Essential source for any Australian topic. Multidisciplinary coverage including Australian journals, newspapers, with emphasis on social sciences and humanities. Includes indexing from 1978, with some full text coverage from 1995. |
| Factiva |
| |
Strong resource for Australian newspapers including Sydney Morning Herald, Australian, Financial Review and The Age. Good retrospective coverage. |
| Social Work Abstracts Plus |
| |
International coverage of social work literature, 1977 onwards.
Print version also available at SREF361.005/17 from 1968 onwards.
|
| Women's studies international |
| |
Covers international literature on women's studies, feminism, family, employment and psychology, from 1972 onwards. |
| Geobase |
| |
Interdisciplinary database particularly strong on environmental and 'green' issues. Includes the full indexing of International Development Abstracts. Is strong as a source for refugee information.
|
| Family & Society Plus |
| |
Family & Society Plus is based on 'FAMILY', the Australian Family & Society Abstracts database. Covers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. Full text from 2000 onwards, index from 1980 onwards.
Print version at SREF306.8099405/2, 1988 to 1991.
|
| Family & society studies worldwide |
| |
Another excellent source of articles on refugee issues, from 1970 onwards.
|
| Sociological Abstracts |
| |
International coverage of sociology and sociological issues, 1974 onwards. Also in print at SREF301.05/37 1953 to 1999. |
| Historical Abstracts |
| |
Covers world history, excluding U.S. and Canada, from 1450 to present. Indexes journals, monographs, dissertations. Useful for historical aspects of refugees. Indexing from 1982 onwards. Also in print at SREF905/35 1955 - 1970, and as Part A, Modern History abstracts, 1450-1914, 1971-1999, and at SREF905/36 as Part B, Twentieth century abstracts,1914 1971-1999.
|
| AGIS Plus Text: Attorney-General's Information Service |
| |
Indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of law from Australian and New Zealand law journals, and selected journals from the U.S., U.K. and Canada. Includes administrative law, family law, human rights, legal aid.
Full text from 1999 onwards for most journals, indexing from 1975 onwards. Also in print at LREF/K29/A22, 1975 onwards.
|
| PAIS International |
| |
International coverage of public affairs issues, particularly administration and policy, 1972 onwards.
In print at SREF300.5/85 as PAIS international in print, 1991 onwards,
SREF300.5/29 as PAIS bulletin, 1986 to 1990, and as Public affairs information service, 1915 to 1985.
|
| International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) |
| |
Indexes journals in many languages, 95% of abstracts are in English. Tries to cover countries 'for which information is scarce'. Indexing from 1989 onwards. International coverage of a wide range of publications in the fields of political sciences, politics, public administration, international relations. Includes many articles on refugees. Also in print at SREF320.05/35 from 1951 onwards. |
| Alternative Press Index |
| |
Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere, from 1991 onwards. Also in print at SREF050/80, 1969 to 1999.
|
| Left Index |
| |
Since 1982, the Left Index has provided access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Covers the refugee topic from a variety of perspectives. Also in print at SREF320.53105/10 no. 1, 1982 - 1999.
|
| PsycINFO |
| |
The main source for all researchers in psychology. Provides an international coverage of all aspects of psychology, both applied and theoretical, from 1967 onwards. Also in print at SREF150.5/35 as Psychological Abstracts from 1927 onwards.
|
Special focus databases for Refugee issues
| Child abuse, child welfare and adoption |
| |
Small number of references here relevant to issues effecting refugee children. From 1965 onwards. |
| Australian Bureau of Statistics |
| |
Online access to the Australian Bureau of Statistics complete range of products and services. Useful for statistical information on refugees in Australia. |
Other important databases for Refugee research
| ABI/INFORM Global full text |
| |
International full text coverage of business and many broadly related areas, from 1990 onwards. Includes academic journals, professional publications and trade magazines, which have wide coverage of refugee issues.
|
| Expanded Academic full text |
| |
A very good source of material on refugee issues from popular magazines, newspapers and journals as well as academic journals, Covers all disciplines of the social sciences, arts, humanities, science and technology. From 1980 onwards with full text and images for many articles.
|
| OmniFile Full Text Mega |
| |
Multidisciplinary.
From 1994, index from 1982 onwards.
|
| ASSIA : Applied Social Science Abstracts |
| |
U.K. index covering international social sciences literature. Includes many journals in the health and medical areas. Good yield of articles on refugee topics from 1987 onwards. Also in print at SREF300.5/80, 1987 to 1999 .
|
| Proquest Social Science Journals |
| |
Good coverage of refugee topics in newspapers and journals.
|
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
| |
Extensive multidisciplinary scholarly database. Its important additional function is as a citation database, to trace citations, reviews etc. of a particular work, or author's work, and to find related articles. Includes the 3 citation databases Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956 onwards, Arts & Humanities citation index, 1975 onwards, and Science citation index 1945 onwards, which may be searched individually or collectively.
|
| Current Contents |
| |
Extensive multidisciplinary coverage providing details of articles taken from contents pages of current journals often in advance of publication, 1993 onwards.
|
| Proquest dissertations and theses |
| |
Index to PhD and Masters theses from American and some other universities, including UNSW, some with full text. Previously called Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).
|
| Libraries Australia (Kinetica) |
| |
Useful database to find the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Kinetica provides access to the National Bibliographic Database, which includes the holdings of over 850 Australian libraries.
|
|
|