go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Book Reviews Subject Guide

Databases | Print Resources 

Australian databases for Australian book reviews

 APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text Index from 1978 onwards, full text  from 1995+
 
For Australian resources only. Search on title of book or author and use AND book review if necessary.
 AUSTLIT  Australian Literature 1970+
 
Reviews of a particular work are accessed via a Title search for the work. From the results list, click Work. Reviews will be presented as citations at the bottom of the record under Reviews.
Use the Review Index when you know a reviewer's name, a review title or the title/year of the source of the review.

Multidisciplinary databases for book reviews

 Academic Research Library full text  
 
Type title or author and review e.g. ancestor game and review.
Or go to Advanced search and type author and/or title  in the first search box and select Citation and Abstract. In the second search box type Book Review and select Article Type.
ARL includes  The New York Times Book Review  1997+
 Expanded Academic full text  1980+
 
Use the title or the author of a book. e.g. "empires of profit and book review"
 Wilson Omnifile full text   index from 1982 onwards and full text from 1994+
 
Choose Advanced Search. Search with either an author or some of the title in the first search box. In the second search box type book review. Curiously Wilson will give you relevant hits at the beginning of the list, followed by other book reviews.
 Factiva full text
 
Huge international content and a major resource for Australian newspapers.
 Business Source Premier full text
 
Choose Advanced Search, in first search box type title of book e.g. "Climate Change Policy after Kyoto" or author. In second search box type "Books Reviews" and select SU Subject Terms from the dropdown menu.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 ISI Web of Science  1945+
 
On entering ISI, choose Full Search, then either click General Search or Advanced search. 
Choose General Search, in Topic box (N.B. not the author box), type the title of the book and the author e.g. making of modern tibet and grunfeld. Scroll down and highlite Book Review.
Or, choose Advanced Search, look for  Restrict search by...document type, highlight  Book Review and type TS=grunfeld and TS=making of modern tibet , then click  Search.
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951+
 
Multidisciplinary database. No Book Review search so search by title of book or author as keywords e.g. grunfeld and making of modern tibet
Multidisciplinary databases that allow you to select your fields of interest before limiting your search to Book Reviews
 JSTOR full text  early 19th century +
 
Scholarly contents. TIP! Limiting your search to book reviews. After clicking above link, then clicking the following JSTOR link you have entered the database at the collection level. Now click Search (top left of screen) for the Simple Search page. Click Advanced search and scroll down and nominate your subject areas. Limit your search to book reviews by ticking the Review box...
These Types:            
 
 PCI full text 1770+
 
Like JSTOR, researchers can search by selected categories. Searches can also be limited to Book Reviews by scrolling down the search page and ticking the  Book reviews only box...
Scope: All records Book reviews only Exclude book reviews
 
 

Subject specific databases for book reviews

History and international relations
 
 
Use the title of the book as a keyword search, and click the icon next to Document Type and check Book Review option.
 Historical Abstracts
Sociology
 
 
Search with title of the book or the author e.g. Western european penal systems and book review.
 Business and commerce
 
 
Type in the name of author and the title
 Emerald Fulltext 
  Choose Search. Using Full text Search, type the title of the book. In the dropdown menu for Contents Type, select Reviews.
Literature and language
 
 
Index with SFX links.
Print index available at SREF805/50 from 1921+
 
Australian Literature 1970+
Reviews of a particular work are accessed via a Title search for the work. From the results list, click Work. Reviews will be presented as citations at the bottom of this record under Reviews.
Use the Review Index when you know a reviewer's name, a review title or the title/year of the source of the review.
 
Username and password for this electronic publication may be found in the top right of the screen. Login is located on the top left side.
After logging in, click Subscriber Archive.