go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

The Sixties : Australia & the US Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Key Resources

America : history and life
  A major index to Americana, including history and cultural traditions. (1982+)
APAIS (Australian Public Affairs Information Service) full text
Major index to articles published in Australian journals. Covers all topics. (1978+)
Expanded Academic full text
  Covers a wide range of academic journals. Good coverage of history. (1980+)
Picture Australia
  A product of the National Library of Australia. "PictureAustralia consists of links to images of all forms of Australiana. Images may be of art, abstract art, fine art, portraits, photographs of people, places and events, posters and three-dimensional art such as sculpture, scrimshaw, bark, and costume. Objects may include apparel, weapons, buildings, etc. Both black and white and full colour images are included."
Day by day : the sixties.
  Only in print at SREF909.8260202/1/(1-2)
A chronology of each day of this decade, listing events including political, social and popular culture. International in coverage.
Catalogue Library Resources Database (LRD)
 
The LRD is the Library's catalogue. It is a complete listing of all items held by the Library, in all formats and is a good starting point for finding information. Use the LRD in particular to search for books relating to your topic of interest.
 
The following are some suggested search terms in the LRD.
 
australia civilization 
australia cultural policy
australia history 1945 1965
australia history 20th century
australia intellectual life 20th century
australia politics and government
australia politics and government 1965
australia politics and government 20th century
australia popular culture
australia social conditions
australia social life and customs
australia social life and customs 1965-1972
conflict of generations
leisure social aspects
minorities australia
national characteristics australian
nineteen sixties
popular culture
protest movements australia
race relations australia
sex customs australia
sex behavior australia
social change australia
subculture
united states history 1961 1969
Vietnamese Conflict, 1961-1975 *
white australia policy
* use this subject heading to find books about the Vietnam War
 

Related Subject Guides