go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

The Sixties : Australia and the USA

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

This subject guide has been prepared by Social Sciences & Humanities Library staff. Contact Social Sciences & Humanities Library for further information or assistance.

Reference Resources & Images

Chronologies, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Day by day : the sixties. 1983.
  Only in print at SREF909.8260202/1/(1-2) A chronology of each day of this decade, listing events including political, social and popular culture. International in coverage.
What happened when : a chronology of Australia from 1788-1994. 3rd rev. ed. 1996 
  Only in print at SREF994/395G 
The Bicentennial almanac : 200 years of America 1776-1976. 1975.
  Only in print at  S973/486
Australians from 1938. 1988.
  Only in print at  SREF994/343. An overview of Australian life, society and culture. Includes recommendations for further reading.
The Australian encyclopaedia. 6th ed. 1996
  Only in print at  SREF919.4/204R/(1-20)
Australian Dictionary of Biography.
  Only in print at  SREF920.094/6A Volumes 14-15 cover the period, 1940-1980.
Historical Dictionary of Australia. 1992
  Only in print at  SREF994.003/8A
Encyclopedia Americana. 1986
  Only in print at SREF031/1B/(1-30)
Encyclopedia of American History. 7th ed. 1996
  Only in print at SREF973.03/1F 
The Cambridge dictionary of American biography. 1995
  Only in print at SREF920.073/45

Pictorial works, Pictures & Videos

Horne, Donald. The lucky country : Australia in the sixties. 2nd ed. 1965
 
Only in print at S919.4/56B
Stop laughing, this is serious! :a social history of Australia in cartoons
  Only in print at SQ994/90. A collection of Australian political & social cartoons published from pre-Federation to the 1970s.
Google Images
  A search engine devoted to pictures and images. Search by topic, e.g. Kent State massacre, or by individuals, e.g. Martin Luther King.
Classic Life
  Provides free access many images and classic covers from Life magazine.
Picture Australia
  A product of the National Library of Australia. "PictureAustralia consists of links to images of all forms of Australiana. Images may be of art, abstract art, fine art, portraits, photographs of people, places and events, posters and three-dimensional art such as sculpture, scrimshaw, bark, and costume. Objects may include apparel, weapons, buildings, etc. Both black and white and full colour images are included."
Berkeley in the 60s.
  SVID973.922/32. Available for viewing in the Multimedia Room, Level 2.
100 years : the Australian story.
  SVID994.04/216. Available for viewing in the Multimedia Room, Level 2.
Growing up in 20th century Australia, 1945 to 1985.
  SVID994.04/210. Available for viewing in the Multimedia Room, Level 2.
The Baby boomers picture show.
  SVID994.05/53. Available for viewing in the Multimedia Room, Level 2.