go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Sociology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences. 2001
  Comprehensive 26 volume work inclusive of social and behavioural science subjects, and biographical entries. Subject entries are written as articles which endeavour to include a definition, intellectual context of its development, changes in focus/emphasis over time, current emphasis, methodological issues, probable future directions.
SREF300.3/13/(1-26)
Encyclopedia of social theory. 2005
  Editor: George Ritzer. Offers brief entries on cutting edge topics, such as globalization, consumption, complexity theory, and actor network theory, and it provides state-of-the-art interpretations of long-established theories.
SREF301.01/357/(1-2)
Handbook of qualitative research. 2nd ed. 2000
 
Norman K. Denzin and Yvonna S. Lincoln, editors. Aims to "reengage the promise of qualitative research as a generative form of inquiry ... and as a form of radical democratic practice." Each chapter takes up the project "to show how the discourses of qualitative research can be used to help create and imagine a free democratic society."
SREF300.72/212F
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods.  2004
 
Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Alan Bryman, Tim Futing Liao, editors. Brings together authoritative essays on virtually all social science methods topics, both quantitative and qualitative.
SREF300.72/308/(1-3)
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement.  2005
 
Kimberley Kempf-Leonard, editor-in-chief.  Covers and integrates both qualitative and quantitative approaches to social science and social measurement.
SREF300.72/314/(1-3)
Encyclopedia.com
  Encyclopedia.com provides users with more than 57,000 frequently updated articles from the Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition. Each article is enhanced with links to newspaper and magazine articles as well as pictures and maps.