go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Social Science & Policy Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Australian News and Public Affairs Databases

 APAIS : Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Full text index from 1978, fulltext from 1995 onwards
 
APAIS can be linked and searched simultaneously with other Australian databases.  After entering APAIS, click on the Resources button on the top left hand of the search screen. From the list shown, tick the box next to any database you wish to search then click on Start Searching. The following databases can be linked or search individually.
   Family & Society Plus    (1980+)
    A+ Education full text  (index from 1978+ full text from 2000)
  any/all from the ATSI (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) group, e.g.   APAIS-ATSIS
 Factiva full text
  Huge database for articles and newspapers worldwide. Strong resource for 160 Australian publications including Sydney Morning Herald, Australian, Financial Review and The Age. For best results, view in Internet Explorer. To access all Australian materials only, click on Source, choose from the dropdown menu My Source Lists, and click on Group : Australian Publications.
 Capital Monitor full text
  From the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery, news and information services from Federal and State Governments and the courts. Includes AAP wire news services.

Major international databases with scholarly content

 Sociological Abstracts 1974+
  International coverage of sociology and sociological issues.
Also in print at SREF301.05/37 1953 to 1999.
 Social Work Abstracts plus 1977+
 
International coverage of social work literature.
Print version also available at SREF361.005/17 from 1968 onwards.
 Social Services Abstracts
  Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
 Women's Resources International 1972+
  Covers international literature on women's studies, feminism, family, employment and psychology. Particularly good for developing countries research.
 International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951+
  Indexes over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Includes  material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages.
 ASSIA : Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts 1987+
 
Scholarly coverage of international social sciences literature. Particularly useful for research methods and methodologies.
Also in print at SREF300.5/80, 1987 to 1999.

Additional special focus, scholarly and multidisciplinary databases, Australian and international

Australian
 
Family & Society Plus is based on 'FAMILY', the Australian Family & Society Abstracts database. It is an indexing and full text database providing access to articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families, Australian writing and research on the legal, sociological, psychological, economic and demographic situation of Australian children and adults. Full text from 2000 onwards, index from 1980 onwards.
 
Extensive coverage of Australian and NZ law journals, and some international. Full text from 1999.
 
Replaces Australian Educatin Index. Wide ranging coverage of education related topics in Australia.
Also available in print at SREF 370.5/33, 1957-1997.
 
Index to Australian and multicultural issues.
Continues print version at SREF305.800994/27/(1-2) MAIS index: entries from the Multicultural Australia Information System. Canberra, 1990.
 Australian Bureau of Statistics
  Australian Bureau of Statistics full standard product range on-line. Useful for statistical information on all aspects of Australian life, essential for policy making and policy research.
International
 ERIC 1966+
 
Extensive international educational index.
Print versions at  SREF370.5/34 as Current index to journals in education : CIJE, 1969 to 1999, and at
SREF370.7805/24 as Resources in education : RIE, 1975 to 1999.
 Child Abuse, Welfare and Adoption 1965+
 
Child abuse, child neglect, social policy.
 Ageline 1972+
 
Research in aging (gerontology).    
 Alternative Press index 1991+
 
Indexes radical and left wing publications (popular and academic) including resources not indexed elsewhere. In print at SREF050/80, 1969 onwards.
 Left Index 1982+
 
Indexes diverse literature of the left, with emphasis on political and cultural scholarship, and significant but obscure sources of news and ideas.
In print at SREF331.05/20, 1982 to 1999.
 PAIS : Public Affairs Information Service 1972+
 
International coverage of public affairs issues, particularly administration and policy.
In print at SREF300.5/85 as PAIS international in print, 1991 onwards,
SREF300.5/29 as PAIS bulletin, 1986 to 1990, and as Public affairs information service, 1915 to 1985.
 International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) 1989+
 
International coverage of a wide range of publications in the fields of political sciences, politics, public administration, international relations. Indexes journals in many languages, 95% of abstracts are in English. Tries to cover countries 'for which information is scarce'.  
Also in print at SREF320.05/35 from 1951 onwards.
Multidisciplinary
 Project Muse full text 1995+
  Provides full text access to Johns Hopkins University Press academic journals, in the humanities and social sciences.
 PCI full text 1770 - 1995.
  Major online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, in 37 key subject areas, available electronically.
 JSTOR full text from middle 19th century
  Scholarly content. Provides retrospective online access to may important journals in a wide range of disciplines and subject areas.  Once in the database, to begin a search, click on the Search (top left of screen), then scroll down and nominate your categories before typing your search terms.
 OmniFile Full Text Mega
  Huge multidisciplinary database. Covers all the Wilson databases which can be searched together, or individual databases or subject areas may be selected, e.g. Social Science, Education etc. Can limit to peer reviewed articles.
 Academic Research Library
 
Extensive international coverage of information in the social sciences and humanities, also with content in science and technology.
 
Multidisciplinary coverage. Provides the full text of articles from a wide range of academic and other journals. Allows you to limit to refereed publications.
 Proquest Social Sciences Journals full text
   Limit searches to scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed. You may select individual databases, or search all at once. See Select multiple database link to select or deselect databases.
 Business Source Premier full text
  Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Can limit to Academic journal or other types of publication. Includes Harvard Business review full text back to 1922.
 Science Direct full text
 
Elsevier journals, environment, media and mass communication, social issues etc.

Other important special purpose and multidisciplinary databases

 Australian Digital Thesis full text
  Digitised theses produced at Australian Universities. The ADT database provides access to PhD and Masters by Research theses only.
Proquest dissertations and theses
 
Replaces Digital Dissertations. Covers North American theses from 1861 onwards, with abstracts included from 1980. Includes UNSW doctoral theses (from 1974) and theses from most universities in Great Britain (from 1988). Of the  more than 2 million listed, more than 600,000 of the more recent theses are now available for immediate free download. 
 Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
  Useful database to find the location of items in other libraries in Australia. Libraries Australia provides access to the National Bibliographic Database, which includes the holdings of over 850 Australian libraries.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
 Web of Science 
 
Extensive multidisciplinary scholarly database, indexing top ranking journals in every discipline. It has a very important function as a citation database, to trace citations, reviews etc. of a particular work, or author's work, and to find related articles. Includes the 3 citation databases Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956 onwards, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975 onwards, and Science Citation Index 1945 onwards, which may be searched individually or collectively.
Also links to Journal Citation Reports : JCR to see the most cited journals in any year or discipline.
 Current Contents
  Extensive multidisciplinary coverage providing details of articles taken from contents pages of current journals often in advance of publication, 1993 onwards.