go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

World History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Databases for searching the contents of journals
 Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Contains more than 410,000 records on a range of subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. From 1971 onwards.
 Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present.
 Online newspapers
  Factiva full text   - database for newspapers and journal articles
A multidisciplinary full text database with an international content. Also strong on newspapers. Includes an option to search only the 160 full text Australian publications as a group or individually, including Sydney Morning Herald, The Age, The Australian, Australian Financial Review etc.
 New York Times 1851-2001 full text
  Entire NYT from 1851
 Times Digital Archive full text  - 1785-1985  
The entire The Times (London) newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
 Reference books and electronic reference resources
 The Hutchinson chronology of world history
 
In print in the UNSW Library at SREF909/214 - v. 1. The ancient and medieval world, prehistory-AD 1491; v. 2. The expanding world, 1492-1775; v. 3. The changing world, 1776-1900; v. 4. The modern world, 1901-1998
 Oxford Reference Online full text
 Includes A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World and other relevant reference works.
 Electronic Books
 Oxford Scholarship Online full text   - electronic books database
Over 700 complete and fully searchable books, in the fields of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
 Internet sites
 
 
These are only 2 of the many sites on the Internet that offer world history resources.  
 UNSW Library Resources Database (LRD) and MyCourse (Course Reserve)
 LRD (Library Catalogue) -  before clicking, read below:
 
Use the LRD to search the UNSW Library for books. Type the keywords world history islam and choose Keywords all fields. Look at several records to see if they are relevant and click on the title of items to find the subject heading. Click on the title of the record for Islam : religion, history, and civilization and scroll to the subject headings. Click Islam -- Essence, genius, nature to generate a subject search. Retrieve your previous search via the Previous Search tab.
 MyCourse - before clicking, read below:
 
MyCourse (Course Reserve) is the database that searches the UNSW Reserve collection. Some materials will be physically borrowable from the Library Reserve on level 2 of the main library building or MyCourse may offer a link to the electronic format, most commonly either a journal article or an exam paper. You can search MyCourse for a known item or by keyword for unknown items, but the first search should be using your course code to find all items your lecturer wants you to access. Example: Click the above MyCourse link. Type your Course Code e.g. HIST1021 (World History Twentieth Century) or INST1200  (World History B), and select Course Code from the Field to Search dropdown menu.

Related Subject Guides