go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

World History Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopaedias

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
 
A useful resource for information on philosophical themes such as politics, ethics, countries and regions, social science. Also covers world philosophies, historical time periods and world religions.
Politics and International Relations Resource
 
A fully-searchable and cross-referenced database from Routledge Reference Resources. It includes over 30 reference books published by Routledge, such as Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities; The Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century; The Routledge Companion to Fascism and the Far Right.
The Encyclopedia of world history : ancient, medieval, and modern, chronologically arranged.
 
6th ed. 2001 SREF903/3A
The Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers. 1999
  SREF306.36403/1
The Times atlas of world history. 1993
  PATREF911/22B Located on Level 7
Oxford Reference Online full text
  Online access to a large range of Oxford reference resources. Includes Companions to Australian History, British History, Canadian History, World History, United States History. Also contains useful dictionaries such as A Dictionary of Political Biography and A Dictionary of World History.
The encyclopedia of historic places. 1984
  SREF903/35 Volumes 1 & 2
The encyclopedia of world facts and dates. 1993
  SREF909/174
The human record : sources of global history.  4th ed. 2001
  SREF909/206B/(1) ; S909/206C/(1)
Europa World
  Europa World is the online version of the Europa World Year Book, the indispensable source of information on world-wide affairs.
First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries. Arranged alphabetically by country. Provides an up to date overview of each country, including economic and social statistics.
The Europa world year book. 1989 - 2002
  SREF910.005/26
Historical Tables, 58BC - AD1985. 1986
  SREF902/1
The timetables of history : a chronology of world events. 1975
  SREF902.02/2A
Biography Index.
  SREF920.005/32 from Jan 1946/July 1949 onwards.
The McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of world biography: an international reference work. 1973
  SREF920/29/ Volumes 1 to 12.
Kuhlman, Erika A. A to Z of women in world history. 2002
  SREF305.4/173

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Online
 
The Online version of the Oxford English Dictionary, contains the full text of the 20 volume hard cover dictionary, with over 60 million words describing 750,000 terms used in the English language in the last one thousand years. Also included are about 2.4 million quotations.
Dictionary of historical terms. 3rd ed. 1998
 
SREF903/36C
Historical Biographical Dictionaries. 1980
  SREF920.073/42

Reference

Facts on File
 
World News Digest. Consists of The News Digest, The Cumulative Index and  World Atlas.
The News Digest is a detailed, objective and timely weekly distillation of the news and current information as reported in more than 70 major newspapers and news magazines from the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia and elsewhere around the world. Also includes government reports and online databases. Provides a complete, concise and accurate record of politics, foreign affairs, business, the economy, finance, government, crime, the environment, science, medicine, arts and sports. Includes statistics, chronologies, key events, maps, photographs, etc.
Only in print at SREF 305/7 from 1941 onwards.
Keesing's Current Events
 
Provides objective accounts of the world's key events, and is one of the most comprehensive and reliable digests of current international affairs, used as an authoritative resource by international bodies such as the United Nations, the World Trade Organisation and the IMF. Contains significant and in-depth coverage of country-by-country information, and is indexed by country, international organisation and topic.
Only in print at SREF909.8205/1 from 1931 onwards